Preface

So for my first post, I figured it would be a good idea to give a little introduction to where I will be getting my inspiration for future posts. Here are a few sites I have constantly open on my computer:

Allrecipes.com – This is my go-to source. I can confidently say I am on it at least once a day. Why, you ask? First of all, you can sign up to receive daily newsletters (my favorite one = Healthy Bites. Self explanatory.) Secondly, they have this great feature called a recipe box where you can save yummy dishes to refer to for future use. If you haven’t already noticed, I’m not the typical 20-year-old but to further emphasize this, I’ll admit that when I’m bored I browse this site and rack up delish-looking items in my recipe box…making a grocery list on my Stickies (the Mac app on my desktop) in the process. (Yes, I’m well aware I’m a loser.) Anywho, “INGREDIENTS” – another reason why I love AllRecipes. This useful element allows you to choose what contents you want your meal to include and not in include, which comes in handy when you have perishable items in the fridge you need to eat!


Twitter – First and foremost, follow Sprinkled with Love (@SprinkledwLove) and/or me (@ldcardarelli!) Believe it or not, there are great recipes and ideas posted on Twitter all the time! Besides keeping up with celebs and my friends, I follow my fav FoodNetwork (@Foodnetwork) stars (Giada De Laurentiis, Guy Fieri and Paula Dean to name a few) as well as other food tweeters like Martha Stewart, @Home_Recipes, @Lunchboxbunch, @Wholerecipes (Whole Foods‘ recipes,) etc.


Cupcakes and Cashmere – I’m obsessed with this blog. To say that the blogger, Emily, is super creative would be an understatement. I idolize her in every way, shape and form. This blog has great posts on an assortment of topics from recipes to fashion and beauty how-to’s. It’s a staple read for any college girl. I rarely can accomplish much without my daily dose of c&c.


To name a few more…

CookingLight.com

MarthaStewart.com

Fatlossschool.com

FoodFit.com

BettyCrocker.com

MomsWhoThink.com

Shape.com


Other inspiring media:

Real Simple -The amount of pages I rip out of each month’s edition to save is a little ridiculous…from craft ideas and interior design schtuff to recipes and beauty tips, this magazine encompasses everything I need, love and want. It inspires me in a lot of aspects but also can keep me occupied for hours (which is difficult to do, I admit) with its pretty pictures and interesting articles.







FoodNetwork – hands down my favorite television channel (when I actually have time to sit down and watch it.) I love watching the pro’s techniques/tips and end up looking up the recipes I watch people like Giada and Bobby Flay make. I have yet to create one of their meals I didn’t like!


That’s all for now! Keep a lookout for my first actual post on my kitchen creations!

3 Comments to “Preface”

  1. Hi Poodle! I’m loving the blog so far!

  2. such a great first post! i’ll be on the look out for more… especially ones where i’m featured because you’ll be making me lovely meals.

  3. Nice Start…good info! I can’t wait to read more!!

Leave a Reply

