Shuck it!

It was a beautiful day in the neighborhood! 116 came over to our place (143) for a first official family dinner to kick off the school year and celebrate Ian’s birthday. My roommates and I cooked…actually to clarify: Al, Taylor and I cooked, while Gianna cleaned our condo (a task equally as taxing and necessary when having guests over obv.)

On the Menu: Grilled Corn, veggie shish kabobs and BBQ chicken

As you can see, we wanted to fully take advantage of the last few weeks of summer cuisine. How cute is Gianna’s grill!?! At home, my dad is usually the grill-master, but I gave myself the challenging job of gettin’ my grill on and honestly have to give myself a pat on the back. (I texted my dad a picture of the meal after it was complete, even he was impressed.)


Tip: If you want to cook corn on the cob in the husks, soak them for about 15 minutes prior to throwing them on the grill and snip off the excess husk and silk pieces. This provides extra moisture for cooking! (I once learned this hard way, dry corn = not tasty.) Place the corn on the grill’s grate and cover for about 15 minutes, turning them every once in a while for equal cooking.


Taylor was kind enough to cut up our veggies. I’ve been on a bit of a zucchini kick lately so we speared green zucchini, as well as red bell peppers, mushrooms and onions onto metal sticks. Taylor had a nice pattern going on the kabobs (you can tell she’s an art major.)

After brushing on some olive oil, I lightly seasoning it with some awesome Olde Thompson California Garlic & Sea Salt (I’m obsessed with this stuff. A must buy!)

Voilà! So now onto the BBQ chicken. I’m a big fan of Perdue’s Fit & Easy Breast Tenderloins because most of the nasty schtuff is already cut out! In other words, there’s a lot less hassle when it comes to trimming off fat…well, you know what I mean. I’m not getting into it. Gross.

+

= heavenly

Usually I would make a homemade sauce, but we were in a bit of a time crunch so I quickly marinaded the chicken with the Jack Daniel’s Original BBQ sauce we had in the fridge (we love BBQ in 143,) then threw the little chickies on the grill.


Although it wasn’t a difficult meal to create, it was a solid, first family dinner and safe blog post to start off my semester with. I will get more creative, I promise! Just to make a note of this, though, grilling veggies like the corn and kabobs mixes things up a bit. I know that, personally, I get sick of the same old, steamed vegetable side dishes! So next time, throw them on the grill and let me know what ya think.

Happy, hungry kids

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

5 Responses to “Shuck it!”

  1. shish kabobs are my fav

  2. is there a reason everyone matches in the last picture??

  3. Very good! You’ve set the bar very very high! Now you’ll need to keep this up all semester!

  4. Looks yummy! Seems like the gang was happy. Great job!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

