Purse Happy Snacks, Ditch the Paper Bag…

It’s tough to eat healthy when you’re running around campus all day or working 9-5, not to mention what a hassle it is to pack then schlep with you a well-balanced lunch. (Whether it’s old school lunchbox style or the un-eco-friendly brown bag, they both are obnoxious, not to mention nerdy!)

Here are 5 easy go-to snacks I’ve been munching on recently that you can throw in your backpack or purse to keep you going, energized and happy!

#1 Energy/Protein Bars: These are ridiculously convenient to have on hand when your tummy begins to rumble during your boring lecture. I have compared the nutritional facts, calorie counts, sugar content, etc. ever since high school and have come to find my 3 favorite (pictured below.) PS: These are especially great pre- or post-workouts!

Check out this link for other great suggestions: Zeroing In On the Best Energy Bars

#2 Greek Yogurt: Chobani’s Plain 0% is only 100 calories but has 18 g. of protein! Super filling, too! I buy these and mix in fresh fruit for a snack. There are lots of brands to experiment with, yet Chobani is by far my favorite!

#3 Soy Nuts: In the mood for something crunchy and salty? STEP AWAY FROM THE POTATO CHIPS! I recently purchased a bag of Soy Nuts at Whole Foods and can’t stop eating them! They’re a great source of protein and one of those snacks you can aimlessly munch on while you study or watch TV (and not feel guilty about…) I throw a serving size of these babies into a zip-lock baggie and snack in between classes!

#4 Apple Sauce: I recently tried Mott’s new product: Harvest Apple PLUS! Calcium and I’m obsessed. I’ve always stuck with the Original but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve found myself more and more turned off by sweet/sugary things. The PLUS! products have no sugar added AND the Harvest Apple has fortified Calcium in it, which we all can benefit from!


#5 Yogi Granola Crisps: Here is another great Whole Foods purchase! When I have cravings, rarely is it for a piece of cake or a chocolate fudge sundae…it’s usually for some kind of carb. I know, I’m weird. Anyway, this low-fat “delightfully crunchy snackable cereal” (as the bag describes) is full of oats, barley, spelt, quinoa (check out my last post,) amaranth, among other things. 20 g of whole grains per serving…Wowza! My favorite flavor (Mountain Blueberry Flax, shown below) has a sweet, berry taste. YUM! (Light bulb idea: throw a few of these in your Greek yogurt.)


So there you have it! My top 5 favorite snacks I’ve been LIVING on the past few hectic weeks.

Other easy things to keep around: Fruit, veggies (with and/or with out fat-free dip,) 100 calorie popcorn, nuts like almonds and walnuts, hummus (great with whole wheat pita or vegetables,) peanut butter (I eat this on a spoon for a snack all the time,) make-your-own-trail-mix…I could go on forever.

Check out these 2 links from Cooking Light for more ideas: Fitness-Friendly Snacks & Dietician-Approved.

Sprinkled with Love,

Lauren

5 Responses to “Purse Happy Snacks, Ditch the Paper Bag…”

  1. Great ideas…I bought you popcorn and almonds today….yummmm!!

  2. We leave a dish of almonds around the house for snacking, HEALTHY!!!! Retirement lends itself to toooooo many unhealthy habits if you let it!!! Keeping active, tennis, outdoors, golf etc……………..Keep moving moving moving!!!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

