“A Gift to the Heart” and In This Case My Belly, Too

Now that sorority recruitment is a few weeks behind us, I finally have my DZ big sis, Kelly, back. YAY! The other night we both took a break from our busy schedules and had a much needed catch-up sesh over a fab dinner (Kell is a smarty pants and has been slaving over LSATs, while I have been in Homecoming mode…)

“A sister is a gift to the heart,
a friend to the spirit,
a golden thread to the meaning of life.”
Isadora James

What was on the menu you ask? Real Simple’s Gingery Pork & Cucumber Pitas (substituted with turkey) with my favorite summer side dish, Ramen Noodle Salad. This salad has been a necessity at any BBQ or special occasion of my family’s ever since I was introduced to it in high school ( a friend of mine made it for every field hockey and lacrosse pasta party.) I have honestly never met ANYONE who doesn’t like it!

What you’ll need for the Gingery Turkey & Cucumber Pitas:

1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 teaspoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon Kosher salt
2 Kirby cucumbers, thinly sliced
1 green jalapeño
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 pound ground turkey
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
Pita pockets, halved

Directions:

Combine the vinegar, sugar, and salt in a medium bowl. Stir until fully dissolved. Slice the cucumbers and chop the jalapeño.

Place the cucumbers and jalapeño into the bowl. Let them sit (tossing occasionally) in the dressing for at least 5 minutes. I put them in the fridge while I finished making the rest of dinner.

Now for the turkey! In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Cook the turkey for 5-6 minutes, or until no longer pink.

Stir in the hoisin sauce, ginger and 2 tablespoons of water.

I toasted the pitas before filling them so they were nice and warm…personal preference.

Finally, fill the pita breads with the turkey meat and cucumber salad and guess what? You’re done! I covered these with aluminum foil while I threw the salad together, which literally takes less than 5 minutes.

What you’ll need for the Ramen Noodle Salad:

1 16 ounce package broccoli coleslaw mix
2 (3 ounce) packages chicken flavored
Ramen Noodles
1 bunch green onions, chopped (optional)
1 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup white sugar (the recipe calls for 1/2 but I think it’s too sweet…)
1/4 vegetable oil
1/3 cup cider vinegar

Directions:

For the dressing, whisk together 1 Ramen Noodle seasoning packet with the sugar, oil and vinegar. In a large bowl, combine the slaw, broken noodles and green onions and sunflower seeds.  Drizzle the dressing over the salad prior to serving. DONE!

I wish I had more leftovers because this was incredible! 5 stars in my book. Note for future reference: the pitas didn’t hold much meat and broke…things got messy. Next time I will be making it on 100 calorie Arnold sandwich thins. All in all, though, awesome meal for an awesome big sis.

Sprinkled with Love,

Lauren

4 Responses to ““A Gift to the Heart” and In This Case My Belly, Too”

  1. Another yummy meal!!

  2. i’m creeping through your old recipes and SO many look amazing. this one has my mouth watering tho… i’ll be making it in the immediate future 😉

    x,
    brittney from http://www.hushnwonder.com

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

