Ah, the Glory!

I have been living life on-the-go lately so while I had a few hours to myself the other night, I wanted to create a nutritious snack I could easily throw in my bag for the upcoming week. I have been saving this tasty treat (Morning Glory Muffins) in my AllRecipes.com recipe box for some time now and decided to try them out once and for all! From carrots and apples to walnuts and raisins, these muffins seem to have just about everything but the kitchen sink in them, which is a good thing as I, and my roommates, can attest to. They were absolutely delicious, moist and will satisfy a sweet tooth in a healthy manner. Baking – followed of course by a taste test – was the perfect way to get my mind off my crazy schedule and de-stress a bit.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cups white sugar (I used half of this to make it healthier…teehee)
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups grated carrots
1 apple – peeled, cored, and chopped (I used 2 small McIntosh apples)
1 cup raisins
1 egg
2 egg whites
1/2 cup apple butter
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons chopped walnuts
2 tablespoons toasted wheat germ

Getting started:

Preheat the oven to 375 degress F. Place muffin cups into the tray and lightly coat with nonstick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine and whisk together egg, egg whites, apple butter, oil and vanilla.

Next, in a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients (flours, sugar, cinnamon, baking power, baking soda and salt.)

Grate the carrots (so they are very fine) and chop the apples.

Add the carrots, apples and raisins to the dry ingredients.

Now stir in the apple butter mixture.

Ahh it looks so delish! Almost done! Spoon the batter into prepared muffin cups (3/4 of the way full.)


In a small bowl combine wheat germ and walnuts, then sprinkle generously on top of the muffins.

Now all you need to do is pop ’em in the oven for 15-20 minutes…or until the tops are golden and spring back when lightly pressed.

Mmm!

My roommates are on the picky side, so I know a recipe is a keeper when I get their approval. The Morning Glory muffins were a huge hit and a household favorite. Needless to say, an entire batch was gone within 2 days.

Tay-Tay having a Morning Glory muffin for breakfast

Word of the wise: The muffins taste great if you put them in the toaster oven! They get all warm and gooey. A lot of the comments on AllRecipes.com said they are even good if you put them in the freezer? I’m planning on making a double batch of these soon to see for myself if that works…I’ll keep you updated on that.

Sprinkled with Love,

Lauren


3 Responses to “Ah, the Glory!”

  1. Sound delicious!! I can’t wait to make these!

  2. As always, good job!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

