Crunch, Crunch, Crunch…

I’ve had 2 cans of chickpeas chillin’ in my cabinet for a while now (I love them but never knew really what to use them for besides topping my salads) so I was thrilled when I stumbled upon this Crispy Roasted Chickpeas recipe, bored in class (sorry Journalism Ethics…woops!) Anyway, I came across this blog, Steamy Kitchen, via Martha Stewart’s blog and am officially obsessed.

WARNING: these are addicting…double, triple or even QUADRUPLE your batch because they will be gone in minutes. Trust me.

The ingredients are simple: One can (or two, or three…) of chickpeas (garbanzo beans,) olive oil and a seasoning of your choice.

I used garlic salt but I found a lot of recipes online that suggested lime zest, chili powder, paprika, brown sugar, soy sauce, etc. Experimenting with these is a definite in the future!

After opening the can, drain the chickpeas with a strainer and briefly rinse.

Next, pour chickpeas onto a paper towel and pat dry.

The skins can be taken off if you want, but Lindsay (one of my DZ little sisters, who helped me make these) suggested you keep them on because it allows the finished product has even more of a CRUNCH. Thanks for the tip, Pitutu.

Throw these little guys onto a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and season.

Toss them about to distribute seasoning and oil.

Oven ready!

Let them cook for 30-40 minutes or until they are crunchy, golden brown!

Tada!

These are great to just munch on or to even put on a salad, which I tried last night and give 2 thumbs up.

Lindsay loved them…we snacked on the chickpeas while we caught up on some homework.


Allie, not surprisingly, ate them by the spoonful.

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren


7 Responses to “Crunch, Crunch, Crunch…”

  1. poodles, this is the best blog ever.

  2. Mmmmm yum. This sounds delish.

  3. Will be trying those garbonzo beans!

    Of course, old bay is from Jul………I am the post office guy. She carreid it around for months.

    She helps me upload stuff. I run to the post olffice for her………..

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

