Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

I have always wanted to try stuffed peppers but usually recipes seem a bit daunting with lots of ingredients and directions, not to mention the requirement of appliances I do not currently own as a college student (i.e. a crock pot.) I recently found this recipe from Self Magazine (online), yet substituted the ground turkey with one package of tofu for my vegetarian roommate, Allie. The short list of easy ingredients was what interested me but of course I didn’t read the entire recipe to find it, like every other recipe, required a crock pot. SO I used the cooking end of the recipe from SimpleRecipes.com to bake them in the oven! Whoops? Let’s just say I think my blond moment ended up making the recipe even better. I made this delightful, healthy meal after I went for a nice jog with my sorority sister, Ari, along the most gorgeous part of campus: Horsebarn Hill. I have been enjoying and taking full advantage of this Indian summer by exercising outside and walking to class!


Ingredients
1 package of extra firm tofu or 1 pound ground turkey
1/2 cup of couscous or rice (not instant)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
4 green bell peppers (or any combination of red, yellow or green)
1 can tomato soup
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

To begin, clean the peppers, cut off stems/tops. Remove and discard the seeds and weird insides.


On one burner, start cooking couscous.


In a large skillet, cook the tofu.


This is where I started to alter the Self recipe because I don’t have a slow cooker. Once the couscous and tofu are both done, combine all the ingredients together into a medium sized bowl.


I first put the soup, sauce, salt, etc. with the couscous.


I mixed in the tofu last.


Time to stuff the peppers! Fill them up, it’s ok if a little protrudes from the top, the couscous concoction will get crispy from the oven.


Before popping them in the oven, drizzle (and rub the outside of peppers) with olive oil so they brown. Don’t they look fantastic? So colorful!


Place in the oven at 350°F for 35-45 minutes. (I would have cooked ours longer so the peppers browned more but we were ravenous after working out!)


Here’s what they looked like fresh out of the oven! Perfection.


I went with the orange bell pepper. Divine!


Allie’s was the green. She cut that thing in half as soon as I put it down on her plate!

This was a terrific meal and not much work at all! It would be great for entertaining because they look pretty impressive, if I do say so myself, plus you can do all the prep work before your guests even arrive and easily throw in the oven when needed. Because I altered the Self recipe, these had a bit of a kick to them, but nothing unbearable. I hate spicy food and ate every last couscous crumb on my plate, not to mention my consumption of the last pepper for left overs the following day. Yum.
Note: Ari did a wonderful job being my photographer for this post, thanks for your help! She’s super talented and has a photo blog you must check out.

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren
2 Comments to “Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers”

  1. Nom nom nom this looks delicious. Can we cook together soon? I see joint blogging in our future.

Leave a Reply

