Summer Recipe Takes a Fall Twist

I have been itching to create a seasonal dish ever since the leaves started changing color. While searching for the perfect autumn dinner, I discovered a common theme among a lot of recipes: spaghetti squash. An appetizing SkinnyTaste. com recipe, Spaghetti Squash Pesto with Tomatoes, caught my eye as not only delightful and healthy, but simple! I figured it would be the perfect meal to make for my sister, her friend, Steph, and Amy, who all came to visit me this weekend so gave it go.

Ingredients
1 small spaghetti squash
15 large basil leaves
1 small clove garlic
1/4 cup olive oil
3 tbsp Parmigiano-Reggiano

salt and fresh pepper
1 tomato, diced

To start, cut the squash in half lengthwise…I had trouble with this so Kru had to come and take over.

As you would with a pumpkin, scoop out seeds and fibers.

Place the halves in a shallow baking pan with 1/4 inch of water. This huge spaghetti squash didn’t quite fit but it worked in the end! Place in the oven for an hour at 350° F.

While the squash is baking, start working on the pesto! It’s so easy.

In a small blender combine basil, garlic, olive oil, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper.

Purée until smooth.

Garlicky goodness!

When the spaghetti squash is done, let cool for a minute or two. Gently scrape your fork’s prongs to shred the pulp into spaghetti-like strands.

Drizzle pesto over two cups spaghetti squash (I doubled the recipe to accommodate my guests.)

Add tomatoes and season with additional salt and pepper.

TO DIE FOR! Let’s just say this recipe made me fall in love with spaghetti squash and I have sworn off pasta forever. It’s such a healthy alternative and a versatile ingredient you must try this season!

Kru and Steph both enjoyed it!

I have always loved pesto. Every summer, my mom makes homemade pesto and it is a tradition I cherish as it coincides with happy memories of beautiful shoreline weather and fun in the sun with family and friends. This recipe revamped a summer favorite into an staple fall meal, starring spaghetti squash. Be on the lookout for more recipes from me using my new favorite vegetable. Until then, try it with marinara sauce:

Sprinkled with Love,

Lauren


 

9 Responses to “Summer Recipe Takes a Fall Twist”

  1. Yummm and thanks for the link to my web-site!!

  2. thats the bestestttt

  3. The ingredients are now on my shopping list! I’ve never used the spaghetti squash, but now that you’ve tried it first, I think I’ll give it a shot!

  4. hi lauren! your blog is making me hungry. i’m sitting in front of you right now.

  5. I made this last night Lauren! I’m gonna send you the pic on facebook – also made your stuffed peppers with some little modifications (used gimme lean vegggie protein instead of tofu and quinoa – cuzco mix instead of couscous! also, pre-baked the peppers before stuffing them so that they were nice and soft when done) and it was amazing! TOO MUCH FOOD! Ian and I will have lunch for the rest of the week but we were both so psyched about the spaghetti squash — it was our first time trying it! Thanks for the great recipes!

    • JULIE! Just saw the pictures on Facebook, your meal looked delicious! Thanks so much for trying out my recipes…I’m so glad you liked it! Ever since this post, I’ve been eating spaghetti squash all the time. It’s inexpensive since it’s in season right now, too!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

