Who Is Granny Smith?

Delta Zeta took over the Horse Listeners Orchard in Ashford this past weekend for a Sister’s Activity and I consequently have had lots of Granny Smith apples lying around. Although I was tempted to make an apple crisp, I took a healthier route: a delightful Turkey, Brie and Apple Sandwich and homemade applesauce.

Turkey, Brie and Apple Sandwich
Ingredients
2 tbsp Dijon mustard (I used yellow, not a Dijon fan…)
1 tbsp honey
Bread of your choice (I used
Arnold’s 100-cal Sandwich Thins)
4 oz. Brie, sliced
8 oz. thinly sliced turkey
1/2 Granny Smith apple, thinly sliced
Spinach (optional)

In a small bowl, mix together the mustard and honey. Spread it on the slices of bread. (HouseandHome.com recommended raisin-walnut bread, which sounds so delicious yet Big Y didn’t have anything of the sort, fail, so I resorted to the whole wheat sandwich thins I already had in the cupboard. Probably a healthier choice anyway.)

Thinly slice the apple and brie.

Layer the ingredients to your liking.

In order to melt the cheese and toast the bread, I put the sandwich in my George Foreman Grill. This appliance was the best Christmas present EVER. I use it for everything. A panini press would work, too!

Taylor, mouth still full with her first bite, mumbled, “This is the best f***ing thing I’ve ever had.” Success. It was pretty good, if I do say so myself!

Homemade Apple Sauce
Ingredients
4 apples
3/4 cup water
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
Honey (instead of sugar)
Splash of apple cider or apple juice (optional)

Peel the apples.

Chop!

In a medium saucepan, combine water, apple cider/juice, apples and cinnamon.

Most recipes call for sugar, but I tried drizzling a little bit of honey instead. I’ll let you in on another little secret of mine, I sprinkled Pumpkin Pie Spice in there to enhance the overall seasonal flair.

Cover and cook over medium heat for 15-20 minutes.

Let cool, then mash with a potato masher.

Serve hot or cold!

Apple picking season ends fairly soon, if not already, so get out there and pick your own while you still can. It’s festive! My sisters and I had a fabulous time enjoying each others company, the beautiful scenery and eating our way through the orchard. I’m partial to the Granny Smiths, yet you can of course use other apples for the recipes I tried out. Looking for another way to incorporate your “apple a day?” Slice apples and top your salad! Or try this fitsugar.com recipe. Anyway, I had a blast creating these apple dishes (and eating them…) while listening to Pandora’s Classic Broadway Showtunes Station. Oops, did I just admit to that? Bon appetit!

Sprinkled with Love,

Lauren


4 Responses to “Who Is Granny Smith?”

  1. i am making that sandwich asap!

  2. YUM looks so delicious, you’re so innovative!

  3. Yummmmm!!! And the apple sauce reminds me of making your favorite “Mommy Made” applesauce when you were just a baby!! Guess introducing healthy foods to you at an early age worked!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

