Boo!

To prepare for our Trick-or-Treaters this weekend, Taylor and I decided to carve some pumpkins for our front stoop. I’ll let you guess who created which one. (Hint: Taylor is in the art school, a Communication Design major to be exact…I wish I was as talented.) She also blogged about our festivities. Check it out: A Cup of T! Anyway, it was a bit weird not to be carving pumpkins with my family this year, so to keep with my dad’s Halloween tradition, I decided to make pumpkin seeds! Pumpkin seeds are a great source of protein, zinc and fiber so be sure to eat them while you have the opportunity this fall! Interested in more nutritional facts? Here’s a great article I found. Instead of wasting all the messy pumpkin pulp, I wanted to experiment with pumpkin butter, and did so in a healthy manner successfully!

After separating the seeds from the slimy pumpkin mush, spread them across a baking sheet and season with your favorite spices! My mom is from Baltimore, so my family always sprinkles Old Bay on them. I didn’t have any, so just lightly dusted the seeds with kosher salt.

After popping them in the oven at 300°F (bake for 45 minutes,) I got to work on my pumpkin butter, using a SkinnyTaste.com recipe!

Ingredients:
3 1/2 cups pumpkin puree, or 1 (29 ounce) can (not pumpkin pie filling)
2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup apple cider or juice
1 cup packed brown sugar
2-3 cinnamon sticks
1-2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (to taste)

Start by pureeing 3 1/2 cups pumpkin.

Combine all the ingredients in a large saucepan.

Stir mixture well and bring to a broil.

Thicken by lowering heat and simmering for 35 minutes.

Spread on toast, stir into yogurt or top your pancakes! You can also use pumpkin butter in bread or smoothie recipes. It is a healthy alternative to curve your pumpkin pie craving!

Have a happy and safe Halloween!

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

3 Responses to “Boo!”

  1. Didn’t have any old bay?!?! Uh oh. Please give me your address. This situation needs to be rectified.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

