Marvelous Martha Meatballs

Ever since I ended my vegetarianism freshman year, I have been obsessed with turkey meatballs. I was in the mood for a hearty spaghetti and meatball dinner last night to conclude the crazy Halloweekend festivities. I decided to give Martha Stewart’s Light Turkey Meatballs a try, which I altered a bit, and cut down on the carbs by making some spaghetti squash!

Ingredients
3 slices whole-wheat sandwich bread
1/4 cup milk/soy milk
1 package of ground turkey (I use
Shady Brook Farms’ 99% Fat Free)
3 scallions, finely chopped
2 small cloves garlic, minced
1 large egg
Coarse salt and ground pepper
**I added in 1/2 cup grated Parmesan-Reggiano cheese (I took my
Lactaid pill before I ate…) and 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil**

To start, place bread (I used Arnold’s Flax & Fiber 100% Whole Wheat, so healthy and tasty) in a food processor, or in my unprofessional/broke college kid case…a blender. Put the fine crumbs into a bowl, with the milk. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients. (Big Y didn’t have any scallions, UGH thanks for nothing! I swear, the closest Big Y to UConn’scampus has an awful array of food. Come on, step it up. I highly suggest you use them though.)

Mix together with a fork and slowly add in the breadcrumb mixture.

Now for the fun part! Roll each ball using about 2 tablespoons of the mixture. Place them onto a greased baking sheet.

Bake for about 15 minutes (or when no longer pink in the middle) at 350°F.

If you like them brown/crispy on the outside, drizzle with olive oil. I placed them in the oven along with my spaghetti squash!

While you heat up your sauce on the stove (no I didn’t make homemade spaghetti sauce this time…sorry to disappoint) you can place the finished meatballs in to simmer for a bit and soak up the tomatoey goodness! Super simple recipe. Light and healthy, especially if you swap out the pasta for spaghetti squash.

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

One Comment to “Marvelous Martha Meatballs”

  1. Love it Lauren! I’ve been waiting for another excuse to buy that delicious spaghetti squash! Though, the pesto was soooo good, it will be hard to beat!

Leave a Reply

