Eggless Frittata…Fail.

I recently purchased Silken Tofu with high hopes of creating a fabulous smoothie (Banana Cocoa Soy Smoothie.) Yet when I went to create this wonderful concoction today, I learned the hard way that my blender is broken…I don’t want to talk about. I guess using my blender instead of my non-existant food processor was a bad idea? UGH! Anyway, I ended up trying out a “Mac & Veg Tofu Frittata” and although it tasted great, the instructions were off a bit. Let’s just say it was one of those cases you don’t “judge a book by its cover.”

Ingredients
1/2 cup uncooked whole wheat pasta
1 cup vegetables of your choice (I used red peppers, grated carrots and broccoli)
1 and 1/2 cup silken tofu
1/4 cup soy milk
1 tablespoon chili powder
Salt & Pepper
Oil to grease the muffin pan

Cook the pasta and grate the vegetables.

Once the pasta is done, combine it with the veggies and add the chili powder.

Blend the tofu and milk (OR in my blenderless case, whisk) until smooth.

Grease the muffin pan with oil, preheat the oven for 350 F.

The recipe said to scoop the pasta/vegetable mixture half way up the muffin tin then top with the tofu yet this was one of the steps that proved itself unsuccessful in my trial. I would suggest you mix everything together PRIOR to putting them in the muffin tin. Definitely add other spices of your choice to liven these babies up a bit because, trust me, they were a bit bland. A little salt and pepper goes a long way…

Place them in the oven for 25-30 minutes (I ended up leaving them in there for almost 40 so they got crispy on the outside.) They may look jiggly still but once they are cooled they SHOULD easily pop out of the tray after running a knife around the individual tins. Keyword: should. Mine did not cooperate. So, again, mix everything together before putting them in the muffin tins. I guarantee they will be better off if you do so.

These seem like a great idea and if successfully prepared, would be perfect to create with leftover pasta for a mid-afternoon snack. These eggless frittatas had a lot of potential but just didn’t pull through for me.

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Comments to “Eggless Frittata…Fail.”

  1. Ok. I would have preferred to hear you narrate what you made.

  2. I’m with Rick. Doesn’t the world wanna see how lovely you are!? 🙂 Hahaha, I’m looking forward to this now.

Leave a Reply

