Butternut Squash Casserole

Ever since I made my scrumptious Butternut Squash Soup (seen here), I can’t get enough of butternut squash. I think I’m in love. I recently came across a really cute blog, Cocina Diary, and was intrigued by its healthy Butternut Squash Casserole recipe. The natural sweetness of the butternut squash and sautéed onion makes this side dish a treat. The occasional crunch, courtesy of the Panko Japanese-style bread crumbs, is a noteworthy bonus that made me go back for seconds!

Ingredients
1 butternut squash
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 yellow onion, finely chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup Panko crumbs
1 cup grated parmesan cheese
Salt/Pepper to taste

Just like in my soup post, start by baking the squash cut side up in a deep baking dish/pan, filled with an inch or two of water, at 400°F for an hour (or until slightly browned and tender).

After the squash is done, remove it from the oven and let cool. In the meantime, chop the onion and mince the garlic. Sauté together in the olive oil until lightly browned. FYI, the aroma will be heavenly…and mouthwatering. Scoop out the inside of the squash and mix in the onion/garlic.

Add in the panko crumbs and season with salt and pepper. Mix well.

Top with parmesan cheese and cover with foil. Place in the oven for 10 minutes, then remove the foil and continue to bake for 15 minutes.

Simple, healthy and tasty. Just the way I like it. Dig in!

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Responses to “Butternut Squash Casserole”

  1. I’m picturing eating as I stuff my face with my sub-par blimpie wrap. This looks so delicious!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

