Wicked Weekend Wrap-Up

This Valentine’s Day weekend was absolutely fabulous, minus the fact I’m battling a bad head cold. I went home Friday afternoon, hung out with my family and went to my sister’s hockey game after making a delicious vegetable/tofu stir-fry over pasta for dinner. It was an exciting game against our biggest rival, tied 0-0 going into the last period! I can definitely see myself being a crazy hockey mom someday…I was cheering loudly as my dad hit the boards with his fist in outrage at every unfavorable call. It was fun, even though the nail-biter ended with a loss. The Lady Skating Tigers outplayed the darn Indians the entire game, which made the L a lot worse. Anyway, it was great to be home and see my family.

Picture courtesy of my Blackberry

Saturday morning I woke up bright and early for the Big Apple. For my birthday/Christmas, Mike got me Wicked tickets and planned a day in the city for us. It was a wonderful day, excluding my sneezing, scratchy throat and throbbing headache. We grabbed a quick lunch at 30 Rock, Mike’s old and future stomping grounds, before briskly making our way over to Broadway. The show was absolutely incredible. The music, costumes, set, etc., were out of this world! I’d see it again. And again. I’m pretty sure Mike liked it a lot, too, as much as a guy likes musicals…

Loving my new boots!

After the show, we walked a bit, eventually catching a cab when we got too cold down to Chelsea Market. We had some time before our dinner reservation so shopped a bit. How cool is the Anthropologie store front!?

Picture courtesy of my Blackberry

For dinner we went to Pastis, a cute French bistro in the meatpacking district that offers moderately priced, upscale cuisine. We sat at a romantic table for two in the corner and split a bottle of San Pelligrino (Mike snorted when I wanted sparkling water over a bottle of wine and then ordered a beer for masculinity purposes). I ordered the Seared Organic Salmon with Lentils, Frisée & Mushrooms in Mustard Sauce, Mike got the Cheeseburger, surprise, surprise. He is such an adventurous eater…The food was incredible, the dining area was upbeat and lively. All in all, fabulous meal. We concluded our night by stopping in the Brass Monkey for a drink. I ordered a cosmo for Sex & The City’s sake. It was strong but delish. We headed back home shortly after, exhausted from our fantastic day. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Sprinkled with Lots of Love,
Lauren

One Comment to “Wicked Weekend Wrap-Up”

  1. Great photos! Glad that you had a nice weekend!!

Leave a Reply

