The Breakfast of Champions

Good morning all! And what a wonderful morning it is. The sun is shining, the birds are chirping…oh, what am I kidding. It’s a dreary day. A day of leggings, rain boots, a baseball cap (concealing bed head) and a windbreaker. What can make a rainy Monday morning better? Breakfast. My favorite meal of the day! This morning I pulled out leftover quinoa stir-fry I made last night (with garlic, spinach and lentils), added in some sautéed vegetables and topped with an egg over easy. It was delightful and started my day off on the right foot. If you want to kick your breakfast up a notch, try this protein-powered meal with your favorite vegetable mix-ins.

Ingredients
Egg, over easy
Quinoa
Broccoli
Spinach
Yellow Bell Pepper
Lentils
Garlic
Extra Virgin Olive Oil

I started by sautéing a handful of chopped broccoli and yellow bell pepper in about a tablespoon of olive oil (I know, really professional measurements here). I added in my leftover quinoa stir-fry once my veggies were lightly browned.


I then carefully cooked my egg…it’s always disappointing when I ruin it and don’t get a runny yolk! I put it over the quinoa and dug in, while looking over my to-do list for the week. Bleh, I hate Mondays!

Busy, busy bee! Over the weekend I did very little besides perfecting my resume, working on my cover letter and hitting up the gym so it’s time to kick it in high gear! Lots to do before a much-needed Spring Break…awful midterm on Wednesday, lots of internships to apply to, column to write, etc. Ahh! Have a great week!

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

One Comment to “The Breakfast of Champions”

  1. Wow, that does sound like a great breakfast!

Leave a Reply

