Tofu Shirawhat-y?

I was ecstatic when I found Tofu Shirataki in my local grocery store last week! I have been looking forward to trying these low carb, low calorie, vegan noodles ever since a good friend of mine, Emily, pointed them out during a Whole Foods shopping trip. What is this stuff exactly? Basically, it is a combination of the root of the Konnyaku – a member of the yam family – and tofu. It may not sound too appealing, but guess what? An entire 8 oz. bag has just 40 calories and 6 g. carbs! Caaarazy, I know. I decided to reuse a delightful vegetable stir fry recipe I made a while back (seen here) with a few minor adjustments to see how the noodle substitute compared. To be honest, I was skeptical at first while preparing the Tofu Shirataki (the stench was overwhelmingly unappetizing), but the end result was divine. Two thumbs up! I can proudly say that I am officially a Tofu Shirataki fan and plan to replace pasta with these fun noodlies very often in the future.

Ingredients
1 bag of Tofu Shirataki (I used angel hair)
Veggies of your choice (I used kale, broccoli, red bell pepper, onion and asparagus)
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 tablespoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons soy sauce
3 tablespoons rice vinegar
3 tablespoons crunchy peanut butter
1 1/2 tablespoons ginger
Sesame seeds (or flaxseeds) to top the dish and/or chopped peanuts (optional)

Over medium heat, combine garlic, sesame oil, soy sauce, rice vinegar and ginger.

Add in your vegetables of choice and sauté. Mmm smells delicious…

Turn down the heat and stir in the crunchy peanut butter.

Now, time to prepare the noodles. Don’t they sort of look like Ramen? ✄ Cut open the package and drain the noodles into a colander. Rinse them thoroughly with cold water (for about 1 minute) and blot dry with a paper towel. Next, put them in a bowl and place in the microwave for 1-2 minutes or until completely dry. WARNING: The Tofu Shirataki is extremely smelly! Bleh…the fishy-ness almost made me give up, DON’T! I swear the end result is amazing and worth the few minutes of nose-plugging.

Once you have prepared the Tofu Shirataki, mix the noodles in with the vegetables and voilà, a guilt-free Asian inspired stir fry! I topped the dish with flaxseeds for an extra crunch. Mmmmmm….

Side Note: I need your help! I’m signed up for the Leprechaun 5-miler this Sunday with Emily and am working on a solid playlist. Any suggestions? What songs really pump you up?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

7 Responses to “Tofu Shirawhat-y?”

  1. Awesome idea on the dish, though I’m a little afraid of this so-called reeking stench, but I will definitely give it a shot! I’ve been doing a ton of stirfries lately and have been throwing over rice, but would love to try this healthier alternative. For playlists, you have come to the right girl. I teach spin classes at Merritt Athletic Center in Baltimore and would love to share a few of my latest and greatest! These are all both over 1hr sets, so should be plenty for a 5 miler.
    This first one is VERY top 40, but still a lot of fun!
    Song Artist
    Wonderful Adam Ant (nice gentle warmup)
    Crazy Beautiful Life Ke$ha
    Tonight (I’m Lovin’ You) feat. Ludacris Enrique Iglesias
    Just the Way You Are Bruno Mars
    Born this way Lady Gaga
    Forget You Cee Lo Green
    Take me or Leave Me (Glee Cast Version) Glee Cast
    Gimme More Britney Spears
    Roll Up Whiz Khalifa
    S&M Rihanna
    Whataya Want from Me Adam Lambert
    Morning After Dark (feat. Nelly Furtado) Timbaland
    Like a G6 Far East Movement
    Higher Taio Cruz & Travie McCoy
    Firework Katy Perry
    Already Gone Kelly Clarkson (cool down)
    No Rain Blind Melon (cool Down)

    this one is also pretty current:
    Song Artist
    Parachute Ingrid Michaelson
    All of the Lights Kanye West
    Your Love is my Drug Ke$ha
    E.T. (feat. Kanye West) Katy Perry
    Give it to You Eve featuring Sean Paul
    What’s my Name Rihanna & Drake
    Things We Do Play N Skillz
    One the Floor (feat. Pitbull) Jennifer Lopez
    Santeria Sublime
    Somebody to Love (Glee Cast Version) Glee Cast
    Poker Face Lady Gaga
    Rocketeer Far East Movement & Ryan Tedder
    Shake That Eminem
    Magic (feat. Rivers Cuomo) B.O.B.
    Halo Beyonce
    Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth Primitive Radio Gods

    If you’re looking for something a little more original or from a particular decade, let me know.
    I’ve mixed up a lot of good ones over the years!!!
    Hope this helps!

    • JULIE, YOU ROCK! Thank you so much, I really appreciate it. I am purchasing some of these off iTunes right now. Great variation! PS: If you are ever doing a race down in Baltimore, let me know. I need to make a trip soon and would love to join you! Did I mention I’m 21 now…could add to some potential fun?

  2. Yum your recipe looks good! I have tried those noodles a couple times and have some in my fridge at the moment, I may try your recipe!

  3. My first thought when I saw those noodles was that it was Ramen!! A college student’s favorite cheap meal 😉

  4. Love these noodles but you should try the fettucine style instead of the thin pasta….WAY easier to cook with and no strange smell!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

