Coconut Crusted Tofu

This recipe has been on my “to-make” list for quite some time. I am always on the prowl for creative tofu recipes so it was no surprise that Cara’s Crispy Coconut Tofu Nuggets caught my eye! Cara’s Cravings, one of the first blogs I have ever followed religiously after moving off campus without a college meal plan, has the most innovative healthy recipes. While digging through my pantry last night I came across panko breadcrumbs, left over from my Butternut Squash Casserole, and shredded coconut from making No Bake Cookies. A little lightbulb went off in my head and before I knew it, I was on my computer pulling up the recipe for this light and crunchy dish.

Ingredients
1 package of firm/extra firm tofu
2 egg whites
1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
1/4 cup shredded coconut
zest from one lime (I didn’t have this, but wish I did!!!!)

To start, wrap the tofu block in paper towels and let sit for a half hour. In the meantime, preheat the oven for 375°F and mix together the panko, coconut and lime zest.

Place the dry ingredients on a plate and egg whites in a shallow dish.

Slice the tofu into 5 or 6 slabs (the more slabs, the thinner and therefore crunchier the tofu gets) and then diagonally to make triangles. Season with salt and pepper prior to dipping into the egg.

Gently press the egg-coated tofu triangles into the panko/coconut mixture until fully covered.

Place the nuggets onto a baking sheet (after lightly covering with nonstick spray). Cook for 30 minutes, flipping each halfway through, or until lightly browned.

What a treat. I ate the crunchy nuggets for dinner last night alongside a kale/lentil stir-fry and topped my spinach salad for lunch today with the leftovers. This is a MUST TRY!

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

4 Responses to “Coconut Crusted Tofu”

  1. yum lauren!! feed me. 😉

  2. Come make me this. Thanks.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

