Overnight Choco-Coconut Oats

Wow. It has been a WEEK since I last blogged. I am SO sorry, devoted readers. Shame on me. In my defense, things have been crazy but I won’t bore you with the details. For quite some time now I have come across recipes from my favorite blogs (hereherehere and here) that incorporate chia seeds. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on them and finally did this past weekend from my local health food store when I was home (they don’t have them in cow country, sorry to disappoint my fellow huskies).

What makes chia seeds so great, you ask? They are a fit foodie’s must-have in a nutshell. Chia seeds help with weight loss, make you feel full (and stay full), reduce food cravings/blood pressure, are a great source of Omega-3…need I say more? Dr. Oz even says it is one of the top 5 supplements to have in your cabinet. Ok, ok…you get it. Now onto my wonderful breakfast of overnight oats. Who likes dessert at 7 a.m.? ME, ME, ME! PICK ME!

Ingredients
(Courtesy of Oh She Glows)
1/3 cup rolled oats
1 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
2 tablespoon chia seeds
1 1/2 tablespoon protein powder (substitute: carob powder or peanut flour)
1 teaspoon cocoa powder
Unsweetened shredded coconut, to top

The instructions are easy: mix all the ingredients together in a container of your choice and place  in the fridge overnight. It is a tasty, healthy meal to wake up to and made my morning, that’s for sure. With a similar texture to tapioca pudding, the Choco-Coco Oats were rich and chocolaty, plus kept me full all morning long! I cannot wait to make more and play around with different ingredients/mix-ins. For example, adding in some coconut butter would have made this even more out of this world. Throwing frozen fruit in the food processor and layering it in between? Yes. Maybe trying a peanut butter version with crunchy peanut butter and peanut flour instead of the protein powder? Double yes. I’ll experiment and let you know where I get. As for now, I want to make it known that this is the perfect on-the-go, breakfast for those who “don’t have time.” Quick, easy, nutritious and delicious. Score! All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the chia seeds and am looking forward to incorporating them more into my diet. Thanks for understanding my chaotic life and still coming back to me. Love you for that! Have you ever tried chia seeds? What did you think?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

10 Responses to “Overnight Choco-Coconut Oats”

  1. That seriously looks like dessert for breakfast! I want some!! The chia seeds are growing on me. Even if I can’t taste them, just knowing how good they are for me makes me love them!

  2. i ALWAYS forget to use coconut!! i LOVE this!! i agree with Colleen- dessert for breakfast!

  3. Umm how gorgeous is your breakfast?! I want! And yes I love chia seeds, I put them in my overnight oats a lot!

  4. oh my gosh— this totally looks like desert. I am making this for breakfast tomorrow!

    I just found your blog, so happy! Can’t wait to keep reading!

  5. This sounds great but do you know if you can buy unsulphered coconut in Ontario, Canada, as they upset my IBS. Thanks!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

