Favorite Things

After going quite a few days without fresh produce and relying on friends with on-campus meal plans, I decided it was time to head to the grocery store last night and went a little overboard with colorful fruits and vegetables. I attribute it to the weather shift…I have been craving “summer foods” ever since the last of the snow melted. Can you blame me?

Anyway, last night I grilled a fantastic turkey burger alongside asparagus, red pepper and corn on the cob for dinner before working on an insanely daunting group project. Sounds fabulous, right? It would have been pure perfection (minus the awful paper/content analysis portion, of course) if it were not for my grill incident…let’s just say my right arm is smoother than a baby’s bottom now, thanks to getting way too close for comfort when starting up the grill. Womp womp…

At the supermarket, I couldn’t pass up a big carton of blackberries and strawberries. Hip hip hooray for fruit prices becoming more feasible with the change of season! I’ve missed the sweet, light delight (yes, I just rhymed) of my favorite food group. This morning’s breakfast consisted of Plain Chobani with berries and a sprinkle of chia seeds. Doesn’t get much better than that. Favorite thing #1.

Another recent food trend I have been thoroughly obsessed with lately is kale (seen here). Believe it or not, this huge family-sized bag was cheaper than the 1 lb bundle…guess I will be eating a lot of kale the next week or so! Not a problem, especially since one of my favorite side dishes recently has been kale chips! 400°F + kale + baking sheet + drizzled EVOO & balsamic vinegar = crunchy goodness. Two thumbs up.

What’s my third favorite thing of the week? Portable salads. I have been good with bringing lunch to work this semester and today topped all with a kale/spinach salad with red bell pepper, sliced avocado, cubed tofu and a generous dollop of hummus. Tasted just as divine as it sounds!

My final favorite of the week I want to share with you are EatStrong snacks. The energy bar tasted, no joke, like cookie dough and gave me the energy to go for a nice jog outside today. Like.

And there ya have it, folks. My favorites of the week. TGIF! Have a fabulous weekend!

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren 

4 Comments to “Favorite Things”

  1. All of this looks awesome! I love fresh berries. Bring on the summer foods and cookouts!

  2. Fresh produce makes me happy! haha literally. I just finished a bowl of rasberries, blueberries, blackberries and strawberries … I clearly wasnt craving berries 😉

  3. This looks amazing! I love it when my apartment is stocked with fresh produce 🙂

  4. okay, all of these things are making my mouth water! i’ll have to try that eatstrong snacks…looks scrumptious!

    x,
    brittney from http://www.hushnwonder.com

Leave a Reply

