Summer-Inspired Zesty Basil Burger

Nothing reminds me of summer quite like a solid burger. My two vegetarian summers were such a drag and not nearly as delightful without the staple cookout food. Don’t get me wrong, I love veggie burgers but the fact I was always making things difficult at BBQs, having to explain why I became a vegetarian and that whole schtick in the process, became tiresome. Regardless, I still make things somewhat difficult for I haven’t consumed red meat since (except over this past Christmas break when I was starving at our family friends house and a bit tipsy but that’s neither here nor there…) my senior year of high school and therefore turned to turkey burgers. Ground turkey is much leaner and, in my opinion, tastes better so I’m fully content with bringing my own patties wherever the grilling takes place, often converting beef-lovers into turkey burger fans.

 I desperately needed to take a break last night from my endless amount of end-of-the-year group projects/papers so decided to make a light, summer-inspired dinner. I had fresh basil in the fridge leftover from a wine/homemade pizza dinner I hosted Friday with friends so experimented a bit with my favorite herb, alongside some spinach, garlic and onion, of course.

Ingredients
20 oz. 99% Fat Free ground turkey
2 tablespoons chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped spinach
1 finely chopped garlic clove
Juice of half a lime
Pinch of chili powder and cayenne pepper
Sea salt and freshly ground pepper 

To start, finely chop onion, spinach and garlic. In a large bowl, combine the veggies with the ground turkey with the freshly squeezed lime juice.

Season with chili powder, sea salt, cayenne and freshly ground pepper. Add more for more kick!

Mix together and form into patties. Can you tell I was hungry with my enormous portion size? Sorry I’m not sorry…

Time for the grill! Yummm…

I put my burger on a grilled whole wheat wrap (which ended up getting crispy and chip-like) with a generous dollop of hummus. It was delightful, alongside spicy cayenne-lime veggies. Too bad tomatoes aren’t in season yet, otherwise I would have had a nice thick slice on there. I was also wishing I had some feta cheese to crumble on top. Shoulda, coulda, woulda. Dear summer, get here faster. Please and thank you! What is your favorite summer food? Are you a burger fan (veggie, beef or turkey)?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Comments to “Summer-Inspired Zesty Basil Burger”

  1. That looks like such a great meal. I love grilling corn. Now if I could just get basil to grow, I’d really be sitting pretty.

Leave a Reply

