Nutty Nanner Overnight Oats

Happy Monday! I hope you all had a fabulous holiday weekend. It was nice to head home for a few days to relax a bit before coming back to school to deal with the gloom of looming final exams. After all the rainy weather, my dad and I took advantage of the few rays of sun yesterday with an early morning jog along the water. It was a breath of fresh air (both literally and figuratively). Shortly after, my parents, Mike and I went to a wonderful brunch at Whitfield’s on the Guilford green. They had an Easter buffet set up, which was delicious with fresh fruit and yogurt, salad, salmon…the works. Yum!

When I got home, I found a piece of mail I have been waiting for…my Starbucks Gold Card! Yay! I’m so excited for free refills and beverage customization, not to mention the bad ass, personalized card.

Please note the manicured nails above…I finally tried out the OPI Axxium Soak-Off Gel Mani and think I’m in love. First of all, my nails have never looked so good (I’m obsessed with the glossy light pink…very classy and sophisticated) and secondly, they last for 2 weeks with no damage to your natural nail! Woah. It is a little more expensive but since my biggest pet peeve is chipped nails, I think it will be worth it. I have a lot going on in the next two weeks so figured it was the perfect time to put this treatment to the test. I’ll let you know if it actually lasts as long as it is supposed to. FYI, according to the reviews I’ve read, the French Soak-Off lasts longer.

Now onto my breakfast this morning. I have another fabulous overnight oats recipe to share, this time inspired by the Healthy Tipping Point’s Sweet and Salty Vegan Overnight Oats. Similar base as the last one with a nuttier/nanner twist!

Ingredients
1/3 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I used flax milk)
2 tablespoon chia seeds
Dash of cinnamon
1 banana
Natural crunchy peanut butter, to top

In a small bowl, combine the rolled oats, chia seeds and milk. Sprinkle with cinnamon and place in the refrigerator overnight. In the morning, slice up one banana and place the chunks on a griddle or hot pan until lightly browned. Mash up half of them and mix into the bowl. Top the overnight oats/banana with a generous dollop of natural peanut butter (I warmed mine up in the microwave before so it was super ooey gooey). 

I’m a huge peanut butter and banana fan so this recipe took that up a notch and a half. The contrast between the cold overnight oats with the warm PB and grilled banana was out of this world. Now THAT is how you start your Monday off right! What Monday morning routine gets your week going? Have you ever tried OPI’s Soak-Off Gel Mani?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren 

One Trackback to “Nutty Nanner Overnight Oats”

Leave a Reply

