Favorite Things, Round 2

After a seven hour shift on my feet, followed by a decent workout, I am pooped and turning in early. Don’t ya just love being in bed by 10 PM on a Monday evening? I know I do. Macbook + online shopping + Adele’s 21 CD (which has been blasting on repeat the last two weeks) = ideal. Woop, woop…am I one wild and crazy 21-year-old or what? Anyway, I have some new, favorite food obsessions I would like to share with you, all in which are pictured below. Not the most fun or intriguing of posts, but a necessary one to hopefully perk up some of your taste buds!

Bartlett pear slices with almond butter…a favorite snack of mine, which I picked up on thanks to a friend of mine (Amy). Take your morning toast up a notch by adding on this delightful combination (with a drizzle of honey or agave nectar). Can I hear an AMEN?

AVOCADOS ARE FINALLY REALLY IN SEASON! In other words, I’ve been avocado-happy, topping everything and anything with this glorious fruit…or is it a vegetable? Regardless, I love ’em, especially on my scrambled eggs in the morning. The past few I picked up from my local Stop & Shop have been flawless and divine.

You can’t go wrong with a humongous salad. Top it with avocado, tofu cubes, an assortment of fresh, colorful veggies, sesame seeds and a large dollop of hummus? Even better. Clean meal for a clean eatin’ gal. I’ll take it any day.

Here’s one of my favorite evening snacks when I’m plopped in front of the television, feeling the need to graze and craving something both salty and sweet: savory popcorn, popped on the stove. Making it yourself on the stovetop is a healthier alternative to sodium-filled, overly buttery microwavable bags, plus a lot tastier and versatile (you can mix in your favorite spices for a whole new take on this classic snack). Did I mention low-cal? Um, yes please? I’ve been making mine in extra virgin olive oil and seasoning with cinnamon with a quick drizzle of agave nectar for a sweet, dessert-like snack. Surprisingly very filling, might I add!

Although I would have loved to have had the opportunity to live in NYC this summer, being home has suited me well. Having home-cooked meals prepared for me has added to the overall appeal, I’m not going to lie. Cooking breakfast, lunch and dinner for yourself day in and day out as an off-campus student can be taxing after a while! My father made the baked salmon pictured above for dinner last night with a side of corn on the cob and fiddleheads (below). Just a little bit of olive oil, sliced green peppers, parsley, onion and lemon made for pure perfection. I likey.

I had never tried fiddleheads before last night but can officially call myself a fan. My dad simply sautéed them in a little bit of olive oil, garlic and shallots. Yum, yum, yum! Welp, there ya have it. My recent favorite foodie trends I can’t get enough of the past few weeks.
What have you been loving lately?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

One Comment to “Favorite Things, Round 2”

  1. Ooo I definitely need to try pear with almond butter and agave! Good call. I have been loving watermelon lately now that the weather is finally warming up!

Leave a Reply

