Sweet Summertime

I’ve been pretty nostalgic lately. Maybe it’s the fact that being home and sleeping in the same room I’ve slept in since kindergarten has finally sank in. Or maybe it has been the catching up, immature giggles and cocktails with my two best friends from high school, alongside the run-ins from old classmates wherever I may go. Come to think of it, you know what could very well be the nostalgia culprit? My new obsession with Gossip Girl. I’ve watched half of the first season in a matter of days. I think I have a problem. Regardless, let me summarize my overall weirdness by saying I got teary eyed listening to Trace Adkins’ “You’re Gonna Miss This” while driving through my neighborhood…

Whatever this emotional stint may be/be about, I have decided not to fight it. Instead, I’ve allowed it to inspire me, especially when it came to making one of my favorite summertime meals the other night: Spinach and Strawberry Salad. Although I lost the original recipe my friend, Amy, and I used to make, I decided to improvise a bit using Fitness Magazine’s Mesclun Strawberry Salad as a guide. It ended up tasting great, especially with grilled chicken on top. Avocado mixed in would have been divine, but my local grocery store was all out so I had to manage without my favorite ingredient. Besides that, it was pretty darn perfect. Oh, the taste of sweet summertime!

Ingredients
(Yields 2 servings)
2.5 ounces spinach
8 large strawberries (or more if you love ’em like me!)
3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
Freshly squeezed juice from 1/2 of a lemon
Freshly chopped basil to taste (less than 1/4 cup?)
2 ounces of crumbled goat cheese
Handful or two of walnuts
One avocado, cubed
3 small chicken breasts

Start by throwing your chicken on the grill. I was so hungry I didn’t marinate it but feel free to do so if you would like. I bet it would compliment the salad well if marinated in a strawberry vinaigrette! Next, hull and slice the strawberries. In a large bowl, add in the spinach, strawberries, goat cheese, avocado (if desired) and walnuts. In a separate bowl combine wet ingredients and chopped basil.

Once the chicken is done, finish assembling the salad. Drizzle with the dressing, mix it all up and serve! Delicious! Light but sweet and filling with the chicken. Add a pinch of salt alongside a little honey or agave nectar to the dressing if need be.

In other news, I have been trying to get my act together these past few days in preparation for the start of life in the real world and the ever-so-dreaded, intense commuting schedule. Task number one: tackle my bomb of a room.

I would have taken a “Before” to compare to this “After” photo, but it was far too embarrassing to share with you all. Good as new, now. It’s funny how much better you feel in a tidy space. Please note my beautiful bottle of lemoncello brought back from Florence, Italy, courtesy of my besties. 

Next project: organizing the closet by type for easy access and outfit arrangement (jackets>tanks>short sleeved shirts>dresses>oxfords>cardigans). Can you tell I have a ‘thing’ for navy blue stripes? Yeesh…

To make my stripe addiction more apparent, I would like to introduce you to today’s glorious Steve Madden purchase. They can be laceless and feel like a sneaker. Perfect for running around NYC in! Hi, I like you. Boy, am I am a sucker for seersucker…

Last but not least on my agenda was to start compiling a summer reading list. I love having free time to read during my time off from school and what better way to keep me occupied on the train!? Thanks to my wonderful Twitter followers, I have a nice list going already…
Do you have must-read suggestions? What is a theme in your closet? 

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

6 Responses to “Sweet Summertime”

  1. I want to eat that salad!!!

  2. Ahhh….so happy about the room! And is oh so pink!!!

  3. That Trace Adkins song always makes me so sad/nostalgic!! The Last Lecture was a great little book, I think you’ll like it. Very inspirational. And I have a tonnn of yellow and stripes in my closet!!
    P.S. Beeeautiful salad 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

