An Assortment of Recap Ramblings

Hi! Hi, hi, hi! Have you missed me? Sorry for my absence. I feel like I have some explaining to do! First off, it has been quite a crazy week. Let’s just say I had my fair share of traveling. Between commuting in and out of NYC, running errands/getting pampered Thursday (I know, oh poor, Lauren…) and being in Jersey for a wedding this weekend, I’m pooped. I’m looking forward to hanging in on this rainy evening (see you in a bit, Gossip Girl Season 2) and catching up on sleep.

My internship officially began on Monday and I’m loving it. Time flies because I enjoy what I’m doing and it sounds corny, but I can’t stop smiling! I’m learning a lot, have met some great people already and sincerely look forward to the exciting things the next two months or so have to offer. After getting over the first day jitters, I was able to relax a bit on Tuesday, especially after running into a friend from high school on the train. We decided to meet up in Bryant Park for some grub during our hour lunch break and to take advantage of the wonderful weather, of course. Win.

I am proud that I not only was able to find my way there, but was also able to do so in a timely manner with a half hour to spare! (Note: Bryant Park is only a 9 minute walk from the office I’m working at…I took a few wrong turns along the way.) I attribute much of my success to Google Maps yet, being as directionally challenged as I am, I was slightly surprised to have the time to sit down and enjoy lunch in addition to my travel time. What was lunch, you ask? Spinach salad with edamame, carrots, asparagus, avocado, tomatoes and tofu lightly drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette. Hit the spot!

After being in and out of the city (which is around a 2 1/2 hour commute both ways) and waking up at 4:45 each day to start my morning with a 3 mile run, I needed some “me time” on Thursday in preparation for the wedding I was to attend. A gym sesh of free weights and core work followed by a mani/pedi with a book from the Sookie Stackhouse series (in which True Blood is based on) sounded like a good day off to me! I Need A Vacation on my toes and Ballet Slippers on my fingers. Gotta love dainy pink polishes!

SOoooo…that brings me to yesterday/today: Mike’s cousin’s wedding! I haven’t been to a wedding since I was seven-years-old, so I was very excited. The ceremony was very beautiful, the reception was a blast and the food was delightful. Congratulations Kelly and Aaron! I took a gamble not trying on the dress before purchasing it in the city with Taylor on Wednesday, yet it ended up fitting perfectly. So comfortable, too. I channeled my inner Blake Lively with wavy locks, although my hair refused to cooperate in the humid air. Anyway, there’s my recap for my hectic week. I’m off to make some dinner: a weird combo of this, this and this…don’t judge.One last thing before I go: I’m working on a Father’s Day gift guide post and need your help! What do you think is the perfect present for Dad?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren 

5 Comments to “An Assortment of Recap Ramblings”

  1. Love the dress! You’re gorgeous 🙂

  2. Personal gifts are always the best for Dads! Photos and personal touches for the office!!

  3. Your blue dress is stunning and oh so flattering!

Leave a Reply

