Yep, Another Salad Recipe Coming At Ya!

So I bet you’re probably getting sick of all my salad posts right about now. I’m sorry…I really am but when the humidity is so thick you can cut the air with a knife, the only thing that gets my taste buds goin’ are crisp greens. Why not soak up all the fresh ingredients you can get while they are in season, right? While skimming through the recipes on one of my favorite blogs, With Style & Grace, I came across this Chickpea and Basil Salad and stopped dead in my tracks. You all know by now that I adore chickpeas. Add in my favorite herb, basil, and you’ve got yourself a winner in my book. So needless to say, I made it (with minor changes) shortly after my discovery, spooned some over mixed greens and loved it. Best thing about it? It is ridiculously easy. Perfect after a rough day of lounging by a pool…

Ingredients
1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/2 a carton of cherry tomatoes, halved
1 english cucumber, quartered
1 1/2 red bell peppers, diced (1 would do just fine!)
3 scallions, diced
3 tablespoons fresh basil, chopped
Juice from 2 small lemons
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
3 tablespoons olive oil
Pinch of garlic powder, salt and pepper
Optional toppings: crumbed cheeses (i.e. goat or feta) and/or slices of avocado

The directions are super tedious so get your thinking caps on. Just kidding! All you have to do is chop, dice and cut everything up before combining it all into a large bowl. Whisk together the vinaigrette and drizzle over the veggie/bean mix. Season and let marinate before topping a salad, pasta or eating as is. Enjoy!
What’s your favorite herb?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren 

Leave a Reply

