Fall-Inspired Shrimp with Whole Grain Hodgepodge

I am on a shrimp kick. I have been buying the frozen (cooked and deveined) crustaceans to add a low-cal protein boost to a variety of dishes and can’t get enough of ’em! Preparing shrimpies is a breeze (just defrost in a skillet on the stove) and the bite-sized seafood makes each meal all the more satisfying. On Friday, two of my girlfriends and I decided to boycott the home football game to get some work done — and when I say “work” I’m referring to catching up on our favorite blogs and “pinning.” Oops?

Anywho, in lieu of my departure for Manhattan adventuring the following day (post on that to come!), I decided to cook up my remaining produce and created a delightful hodgepodge of a meal in the process. With a hint of cinnamon and the nutty heartiness of wheat berries, this refrigerator purge resulted in one H-E-double hockey sticks of a recipe. Pat on the back to mwah.

Ingredients
1 cup wheat berries
1/2 cup quinoa
1 lb of frozen shrimp (I used 41/50 pre-cooked, deveined)
1 small yellow onion, chopped
2 bell peppers
2 medium beets
2 cloves garlic, minced
Olive oil
Salt, pepper and cinnamon to taste

To start, prepare the grains. Give yourself about an hour for the wheat berries to cook! Next, roast your veggies for about 30 minutes at 375°F after lightly drizzling with olive oil. While those get going, sauté the onion and garlic until lightly browned. Time it out so that you are adding in the shrimpies right around when the quinoa, wheat berries and vegetables are almost done!

Once your veggies are tender, roughly chop them up and add them to the sauté alongside the cooked grains. Season with salt, pepper and a dash or two of cinnamon for a festive flavor.

I introduced nutritional yeast to my friends for a cheesy topping. I know this sounds like a somewhat bizarre combination but I SWEAR it was divine. The “leftovers” were consumed that same evening…
What ingredients scream fall to you? 

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Comments to “Fall-Inspired Shrimp with Whole Grain Hodgepodge”

  1. Sounds delicious! I love just throwing ingredients together and am always pleasantly surprised when it actually tastes good, too!

  2. I want this! Corn and pumpkins scream fall to me.

Leave a Reply

