Trendy Tapas

I’m a fan of tapas restaurants. Add in cuisine with a Latin Asian flair and I’m there. After Mike got out of work last night, we headed to DohYo Restaurant in Hell’s Kitchen around the corner from his place. It was a good thing it was close with the dropping temperatures and my tendinitis acting up! Anyway, DohYo’s ambience was pretty “trendy,” as Mike described, with its modern lounge/dining area, bumpin’ club in the back and anime-meets-just-plain-bizarre decor. It was quite the experience but needless to say, the food was absolutely outstanding. 

I started off with a Peach & Bourbon Tea (bourbon, peach nectar and green tea), which was divine. I mean, green tea is good for you, right? Well, no need to justify a nice cocktail every once in a while, you only live once. Cheers!

Without further ado, we dove into the menu. Mike is not going to be happy with me about this candid. Oops!?

To start, we each ordered a Chile Dusted Tuna Salad which had seared ahi tuna, avocado, snow peas and roasted shallots over a bed of mixed greens with a drizzle of miso-mustard vinaigrette. It was just as amazing as it sounds (and looks!). The clean taste of the avocado paired beautifully with the tender tuna and crunch of roasted shallots.

Mike, of course, couldn’t resist the House Ground Beef Sliders for his main course. Get the man a Stella and you’ve got yourself one happy boyfriend! Note that instead of a traditional pickle, the pair of burgers came with a pickled okra. Pretty cool, although Mike wouldn’t try it…

The Wok Seared Cauliflower with ginger, garlic and thai chile was one of the first things on the menu that jumped out to me. I love me some cauliflower! For only $5, this was a bargain side dish full of flavor and a mighty kick. Note to self: if you’re going to try a chile, go for a small piece of one first, not a whole half. My mouth was on fire! Maybe that’s where my drink went…

I had my heart set on the seared scallops for my main entree but since that was the one menu item of the evening they were not serving, I went for the Black Cod and I am so glad that I did! Everything happens for a reason, right? The first was served with a pickled artichoke, teriyaki-balsamic reduction and lemon sake aioli. Holy cannoli it was fantastic. The fish was cooked to perfection with a buttery flavor that melted in my mouth. I’m a sucker for anything dripping in balsamic and this sauce took it up a notch with the hint of teriyaki. Simply out of this world.

I told you the place was a bit bizarre, did I not?

Are you a tapas fan? Do you share dishes to try more of the menu or do you stick to a few plates all for yourself?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Comments to “Trendy Tapas”

  1. This place looks awesome! Huge fan of black cod, myself. I’m a sharer of plates at tapas restaurants – and almost any restaurant so I can try as many things as I can.

Leave a Reply

