Thanksgiving Wrap-Up

I had two Thanksgiving dinners this year. One on the actual holiday and my second was last night. I’m still stuffed…can’t wait to get some cardio in today!

After a seasonably warm morning run, Mike and I headed to his sister’s new home Thursday. It was a great opportunity for Heidi and her fiancé, George, to get both sides of the family together before their quickly approaching wedding (yay!) to celebrate all that we are thankful for. From food to holiday decor, their first Thanksgiving was quite a success. I need to get my hands on their turkey chili recipe…

I was asked to bring an appetizer and made this incredibly easy Endive Spears with White Bean Radicchio Salad. I also whipped up a wonderful harvest salad filled with walnuts, apples, roasted squash and goat cheese, which I stupidly forgot to take a picture of. Prepare yourself for a post on that later this week! It was tasty so I don’t mind recreating it to share with you all!

How cute is this pin board Heidi made to display what we’re thankful for this year? She’s so crafty.

The table arrangement was also handmade by the little Martha Stewart. So colorful and festive! I loved the candle holders and flower vases she made out of different jars, which were wrapped in burlap and tied with twine. Heidi also framed a menu and displayed it in the kitchen for her guests to check out. 

On Friday, my sister and I suited up and hit the ice with our high school’s varsity hockey team. Boy, have I missed skating. It was great to see my favorite coach, help him out with instructing new skaters and, of course, get a workout in all at the same time. I’m STILL in pain from the sprints he made us do! After we got home, I quickly showered and got ready for the boyf’s premiere of Tiger Pride: The Story of Hand Football. I was (and still am) very proud of Mike and to see all his hard work pay off was truly rewarding. I wish I was able to snap a picture of us but he was running around like a crazy person and I was manning DVD sales. Oh well. Check out more information on his documentary and watch trailers here!

Moving on to last night…Thanksgiving round 2 with my family. I made my favorite side dish of baked veggies (parsnips, onions, sweet potatoes, brussels sprouts, beets and butternut squash) drizzled in olive oil with minced garlic and fresh thyme. I’m already looking forward to leftovers today!

I hope you had a great Thanksgiving. Guess what’s next? CHRISTMAS! Well, my 22nd birthday and THEN Christmas. It’s the most wonderful time of the year! I’ve been blasting Christmas music somewhat secretly since before Halloween so I am already in the spirit. Are you? I will be spending my winter break in NYC this year and am absolutely elated.
What is your favorite Christmas tradition? Any recipes you consider a holiday must? 

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving Wrap-Up”

  1. Love all of the holiday cheer throughout this post. It certainly looks like you’ve been eating some delicious dishes (what better time than the holidays?).

    Thanks so much for including endive in your celebrations! Did you know that if you used endive marked “Grown in the US”, it comes from California (and Discover Endive)? Plus, it’s always in season. That’s something to toast!

    If you ever want to do a guest post for us, featuring your Endive Spears with White Bean Radicchio Salad or another endive recipe, give me a shout. We’d love to have you and help promote your blog!

    Best,
    Casey
    on behalf of Discover Endive

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

