Easy, Last Minute Holiday Treats

Like everyone else, this week has been a crazy one. I’m back in New York for a month, interning and enjoying myself in the city before my LAST college semester begins. Tuesday was my first day back at FITNESS and it was great to see everyone again. I jumped back into everything like I never left! The commotion in Manhattan is unreal, especially outside Mike’s building (30 Rock) which is pure mayhem, but who can complain about Christmas in New York? Too bad I haven’t finished my shopping nor have I even started wrapping…

Before I head to Grand Central to catch a train home for the holidays, I wanted to blog about the tasty treats I made for everyone in the Neag School of Education’s office where I work: Peppermint Chocolate Covered Pretzels. Super easy if you’re in need of a last minute gift or have room in your cookie tin for another holiday sweet.

All you need is a big bag of mini pretzels, 11.5 oz dark chocolate (I used Ghiradelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chips) and crushed candy canes. On a baking sheet, lay out the pretzels so they are close to one another, melt the chocolate in the microwave or double broiler and drizzle. Sprinkle the candy cane crumbles overtop and place the baking sheet in the freezer until the chocolate has hardened. 


Wrap it all up and tie it with a big, pretty bow and you’re all set! I ended up dipping the leftover candy canes in the remainder of the dark chocolate. Stir into a big mug of hot cocoa for a sweet snack. They can also dress up a wrapped gift for that special someone!

Well, I need to pack up and get back to Connecticut. I have some last minute shopping and baking to do tonight!

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

Leave a Reply

