Holly Jolly Highlights

I hope you enjoyed your holiday as much as I did! Christmas was three days ago so this post is a little late but better late than never, right? Here’s a look at my holly jolly highlights.

After a crowded and somewhat chaotic commute home on the 23rd, I spent the night baking while watching How the Grinch Stole Christmas with my sister. That movie will never get old! I whipped up a batch of Candy Cane Crumbled Nutella Cookies and Low Fat Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies, both in which added a fun variety to my mother’s already made Classic Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter treats. 

I packed them in a tin and little gift bags for Mike’s family, who celebrates every year on Christmas Eve. We ate a feast and opened presents by the roaring fire Saturday night after watching the Giants beat the Jets. Mike gave me my favorite gift of the year, a new iPad! I’m a lucky gal.

I drank one too many cups of coffee for dessert so had a rough night of sleep and woke up early Christmas morning. After catching up (ahem, the entire season 3) on The League from 4 to 7 a.m., I rolled out of bed and made Apple Butter-Banana Muffins for my family. Breakfast muffins may be a new tradition! My sister and I opened the goodies from our stockings over breakfast before we made our way toward this year’s scrawny Charlie Brown tree. How cute is the Victoria’s Secret present from my parents!? I am obsessed with my new bathing suits for spring break! That will be my ‘fitspiration’ since my seven day cruise is quickly approaching in March! 

After the presents were all unwrapped, I peer pressured my dad and sister to come with me on a three mile loop near my neighborhood. They rode their bikes while I huffed and puffed up the hilly terrain. After getting ready, we piled into the car and headed to Massachusetts to visit our cousins.  

Dinner was outstanding. Turkey, stuffing, beet gratin, mashed potatoes…the works! I made the same salad (pictured above) that I put together for Thanksgiving so I could finally share the recipe! Here it is:

Harvest Spinach Salad
1 bag of baby spinach
2 heads of endive, chopped
2 Granny Smith apples, chopped
1 medium butternut squash, cubed and oven roasted
Goat cheese and walnuts to top 

Maple Mustard Vinaigrette
4 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon dijon mustard
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
2/3 cup canola oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Roast the butternut squash ahead of time and assemble the salad accordingly. Lightly drizzle with vinaigrette, toss and serve with the remaining dressing on the side. I warmed the butternut squash so the spinach would wilt a bit. This recipe is a knockout, if I do say so myself!


It was great seeing family, catching up over great food and relaxing. Merry Belated Christmas! Now it’s time to gear up for New Years!
 I’m currently in the process of figuring out the perfect NYE outfit…

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Comments to “Holly Jolly Highlights”

  1. haha so nice to hear another girl is obsessed with the League! My boyfriend was watching an episode one time, and I loved it immediately. SO HILARIOUS!

Leave a Reply

