Where Have I Been?

I really haven’t had time to experiment with new recipes lately and my “blogging time” has been devoted to reading others, discovering new daily reads (post on that soon!) along the way. Between rebuilding my strength after getting over my weird flu-like illness, work, school, commuting to Manhattan, interning, race training, etc., there has been very little time to be in the kitchen. Forgive me?

          

Meals have been looking a lot like the picture to the left. I know it doesn’t look that appetizing, but it’s quite tasty. Stir-fried veggies and tofu (in a drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar) with a generous dollop of red pepper hummus, a sprinkle of nutritional yeast and a pinch or two of chia seeds. Satisfying and power boosting…just what I needed to get my sluggish self through last week’s workouts. In other news, Mike is done with workie for a bit now that the football season is over. It’s SO nice to have my man back. After interning Thursday, we went out to Market Cafe around the corner from his place. Mike wasn’t too adventurous and got a burger, while I ordered the delicious salmon, which was over a bed of oven roasted potatoes, asparagus and roasted red pepper sauce. Although I swore to give up on most fruit until they come back into season (everything  has been so mealy! bleh…), I’ve been on quite an orange kick lately. Out of pure curiousity, I bought and tried my first tangelo (a cross between an orange and grapefruit) last week, which I adored. Add in a cup of Jo in the lovely (teehee, get it?) February cup from Starbucks and you’ve got yourself the perfect afternoon snack! 

          

Saturday morning I bundled up and hit the frosty pavement with Amanda. How about that Okemo Mountain headband circa 1995? A few flakes fell here and there during our jog but the chilly weather didn’t hold us back from completing our 6-miles in exactly an hour. Slow and steady wins the race! Shortly after, I headed back up to school to go to the UConn women’s basketball game vs. Georgetown with the folks and Mike. Lots of guacamole, dinner and margaritas at Agave Grill, my favorite Mexican restaurant, followed. My new favorite cocktail, the Margarita Fresca (Partida Reposado, Cointreau, fresh squeezed lime juice and orange juice). Strong and refreshing!

How. Good. Does. That. Look. Believe me, the picture doesn’t even BEGIN to do the Pasilla Rubbed Tuna any justice. Ahi tuna rubbed with a Pasilla crust, grilled (I asked for as rare as possible!) and served with roasted corn, black bean and mango salsa. Um, yum. Instead of rice, I asked for the grilled veggies, which were out of this world. Add the drizzle of Chimichurri sauce and a mountain of crispy tortilla strips and you’ve got yourself a winner. Mike and I ended up stopping by to see some friends in the area afterward and did a whole lot of nothing (I even skipped the exercise, gasp!) yesterday except enjoy one another’s company. It was weird literally catching up after a month or so of chaotic work schedules. It’s great to have him back.
What’s been up with you? 

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren 

2 Comments to “Where Have I Been?”

  1. Giiiiirl you so cute! Let’s date soon!

Leave a Reply

