Spicy Lime Protein Lettuce Cups

I started cutting down on my carb and processed food intake right around the summertime. I was sick of how bloated I felt, my constant irregularity (TMI? sorry, but it’s true…) and simply believed that if I weaned off of my faithful cereals, pastas and breads, I would have to incorporate more nutritious foods into my diet. I did and, quite honestly, it was the best decision I have ever made. People think it’s weird that I crave a big bowl of greens topped with an assortment of veggies or have a piece of fruit to satisfy my sweet tooth. Heck, they see my portion sizes and don’t understand where it all goes. Straight to fuel, ladies and gentleman! But at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter what other people think. It’s about taking control of your health and feeling GOOD. I can’t tell you how much of an affect (for the better!) this decision has had on my exercise alone. Add in no more bloat, clearer skin and more energy and you can see that the proof is in the (most likely chia) pudding! I’m not going to lie, it’s a tough transition and takes some getting used to, but after months of clean, healthy eating, I decided last weekend to go full out gluten-free. I’ve done a ton of research, have stocked up on amaranth, quinoa, etc. from my local food stores and am excited for what this decision will bring for my overall well-being AND Sprinkled with Love. 

I mean, this was a food blog at one point wasn’t it? I didn’t use to ramble as much about my life and I sure as hell didn’t waste time explaining myself time after time as to my lack of blogging. Hopefully I can get back to posting recipes now that you understand the madness behind a lot of raw ingredients and clean eats. As I’ve come to realize after all my dietary experimentation, you are whatcha eat! Ok, ok. You get it. Enough of me blabbing away. Let’s look at what I made for dinner last weekend for the boyf. Flavorful, filling and hm, another “f” word…not the one you’re thinking of, FRESH. Oh and finger-food is always fun, right? Fabulous.

Ingredients
(Inspired by Keep Your Diet Real)
1 block of extra-firm tofu, cubed
3 green onions, diced
Juice from 2 limes
1 large red pepper, diced
1 cup shredded carrots
2 cups quinoa (follow cooking directions on package)
1 can black beans, rinsed and dried
1 1/2 cups of fresh, hot salsa
A head of bibb lettuce for wrapping (or any leafy, rollable green!)
1 thinly sliced avocado
Extras to serve with: hot sauce (or cayenne pepper), salt, pepper and extra salsa   

Now, this recipe is by no means difficult. Simply rinse and prepare the quinoa according to the box’s directions. While that is simmering, sauté the tofu cubes in a sprayed pan. Feel free to add some minced garlic in there for a little more flavor. Next, slice and dice the rest of the ingredients before combining with the salsa and beans.

Once the quinoa and tofu are done, let it cool before putting everything together in a large bowl with the lime juice. Refrigerate before serving. I would have LOVED to have wrapped them in kale, swiss chard or collard greens but I didn’t think Mike would like that as much. I’m such a considerate girlfriend!

Spoon the quinoa salad into the lettuce cups, add a slice of avocado and extra salsa. Wrap it up and dig in! The spicy lime quinoa itself is great to top a salad or eat on its own. I really enjoyed the leftovers…full of protein, veggies plus gluten-free!  
Are you a lettuce wrap lover? What’s your favorite thing to wrap up in greens?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren 

One Comment to “Spicy Lime Protein Lettuce Cups”

  1. I am so excited to try this since in need more vegan recipes I will leave a note when i try but it all sounds good to me Thanks

Leave a Reply

