Banana, Berry & Hemp Protein Smoothie

Happy hump day! Spring break is so close I can taste it but with that comes a lot of school work, packing and preparing so things have been chaotic. I haven’t ripped out my hair just yet…I mean, I got it cut last weekend so that would be a waste. Yesterday was just as busy but I had a successful early workout, ate some healthy meals, accomplished a lot work-wise and was generously rewarded for everything by ending in foodie heaven: Whole Foods. There’s no complaining there! As I promised last Wednesday, here is this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post, courtesy of Peas and Crayons. Spoiler alert: the smoothie recipe below is beyond incredible…

My breakfast has become a bit monotonous lately so the last few days I decided to change it up a bit with protein-packed smoothies. I typically go all winter without powering up my blender (who wants a cold meal replacement when it’s so chilly outside, not to mention when fruit isn’t in season?) but was encouraged to break it out after purchasing hemp seed protein powder. The first glimpse of spring-like weather has made the “taste of summer” beverages all the more enjoyable! 

Ingredients
8 oz. vanilla soy milk
6 oz. cup of plain Greek yogurt (blend half, top with the rest)1/4 cup frozen raspberries (plus more to top)
1/2 frozen banana
1 tablespoon chia seeds
Sprinkle of flaxseed meal and sweetener of choice

Colorful, delicious and satisfying. This mason jar full of protein powered me through yesterday’s upper body training and kept me full all morning! It was so thick that ate it with a spoon. 

Fast forward a few hours to lunch, where I set up camp at Starbucks for a bit to get some work done with friends. They both laughed and shook their heads when I pulled out my meal, poking fun of my “smelly” choice of hard boiled eggs. (I know they were secretly jealous…) A crispy Granny Smith with crunchy almond butter was also munched on which  accompanied my grande Passion Fruit/Green Tea (I love having free refills with my gold card!) quite nicely. Little by little I chiseled away at my lengthy to do list, finishing my column for my school’s newspaper, tackling a story for my job, among other things. Ahh, I felt so accomplished!

Before I knew it my tummy began grumbling and head was spinning. I needed a break and dinner plans with my gal pal, Amanda, was the perfect excuse to rip my hands away from the keyboard for a few hours. I quickly munched on leftover (unpictured) oven-roasted brussels sprouts before the two of us, as well as her charming guy, headed on adventure to the nearest Whole Foods. We wandered through the isles, before hitting up their salad bar. I went with a mountain of arugula topped with a variety of grilled and steamed veggies. Mmm! I kept it simple with a generous drizzle of balsamic vinegar. While I was there, I loaded up on a bunch of gluten-free bars for my cruise (4 days!). I know, I know…why would I need food on an all-inclusive vacation? Well, it’s better to be safe rather than sorry, right? Per usual, a big bowl of popcorn topped with nooch was consumed later in the evening while I caught up on some reality TV. Now that’s my kind of “nightcap!”
What does your ideal salad bar meal include? 

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

3 Responses to “Banana, Berry & Hemp Protein Smoothie”

  1. Haha, my friends used to complain all the time whenever I would bring hard-boiled eggs to eat as a snack in math class. By the end of the school year, they were used to my eating habits!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

