Hungry Hungry Hippo

I’ve been ravenous lately, eating everything and anything in sight…hungry hungry hippo-style. Well, that is if a hippo ate squirrel/bird food with the copious amount of nuts and seeds I’ve been consuming. I don’t know what has gotten into me, especially since this is the least strenuous week of training. Maybe it’s the fact that I subconsciously am loading up for my race at the end of the week? I’ve also been under a bit of stress with a lot of work due this week so maybe that’s the culprit.

Who knows and who cares. I’ve been listening to my body and powering through a hectic past 72 hours thanks to lots of healthy grub. Without further ado, let’s take a look at what was gobbled up yesterday. Warning: I forgot to capture quite a few things…don’t hate me!

I snoozed my 6:00 a.m. alarm yesterday morning for a full hour. I was not feeling an early start, apparently. After FINALLY dragging myself out of bed, I made a fruity smoothie to power me through a light cardio/ab workout. 8 oz. of Silk Light Original, a plain Chobani, 1/2 of a frozen banana, 2 tbsp hemp seed protein and a handful of strawberries was blended into a thick treat, which was then topped generously with flaxseed meal, chia and raspberries. So. Good. 44 people liked the picture above on Instagram, which naturally put a smile on my face!

I was on the go for lunch, working on two papers with Bre that were due today, so munched on an apple with soy nut butter and two hard boiled eggs at Starbucks, alongside too much caffeine. Baby carrots, red pepper slices alongside two or three servings of sunflower seeds were later consumed before a quick nap. Sleepy and hungry, what is my deal? Waking up rejuvenated, I tackled dinner and homework (while things were getting toasty and browned in the oven). How pretty is that bed of spinach? Roasted veggies and edamame topped a huge salad, which I then drizzled with balsamic vinegar, a little cayenne pepper and nooch. Super satisfying! Popcorn was shared with my roomie later on at the kitchen table, as we tackled the crazy amount of work we have left before graduation. Alrighty, I’m off to class! Running on coffee, as I’m sure you can tell…such a big week!
What’s your favorite smoothie ingredient? 

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

Leave a Reply

