Fitspiration Friday

At this time in two days I will have completed my first half-marthon. The journey hasn’t been easy. Early alarms could have easily been snoozed, the dreadful commute from school to New York City ever week could have easily prevented me from sticking to my routine but all in all, I powered through it. My diet has never been cleaner, my legs are stronger than ever and I have honestly never been as proud of myself. This race has come at a pivotal moment in my life, as I can hear Pomp and Circumstance play faintly in the distance and prepare to conclude this chapter to start anew. Besides the incredibly supportive and encouraging individuals I have in my life, I’ve had a few mantras that have catapulted me forward in pursuit of my goal. Here are some words that helped me get my butt in gear 

“Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go.” Patti Sue Plummer
“Running is the greatest metaphor for life because you get out of it what you put into it.” Oprah Winfrey
“Ask yourself: ‘Can I give more?’ The answer is usually: ‘Yes.'” Paul Tergat
“The most powerful lesson you can learn in running? You’re capable of much more than you think.” Runners World
“I run because it’s so symbolic of life. You have to drive yourself to overcome the obstacles. You might feel that you can’t. But then you find your inner strength and realize you’re capable of so much more than you thought.” Arthur Blank
“He who conquers others is strong, he who conquers himself is mighty.” Lao Tsu
“Failure’s not an option. It’s a step.” Nike
“Run hard, be strong, think big!” Percy Cerutty
“I tell our runners to divide the race into thirds. Run the first part with your head, the middle part with your personality and the last part with your heart.” Mike Fanelli
“Anything is possible, but you have to believe and you have to fight.” Lance Armstrong 

Tomorrow afternoon Amanda will be headed into the city so we can go to the Health & Wellness Expo and check in. I have to pick up a new running top (I’ve had my eyes set on this) and finally invest in a SPIbelt, too, along the way. Come on, I have to LOOK the part, too, right? Walking around will be a nice way to loosen up and a lot of stretching will be a must. Amanda and I already have a big, protein-powered dinner planned alongside an early bedtime, of course. I can’t wait and still get get over the fact that this weekend is already here! So surreal. T-minus 2 days. Let’s do this thing!
Any last minute half-marathon tips? How about fitspiring beats for my race playlist? 

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

Leave a Reply

