When Life Hands You Lemons…

I’m done. Done with college that is. My internship is over, my papers and independent study were submitted hot off the press and today I bubbled in my last multiple choice Scantron exam before feverishly writing what seemed to be a novel of an all-essay final (2 hours straight, ew!). It was icing on the cake of a less than stellar past few days however I’m a strong believer in the whole, “everything happens for a reason” schtick so I’m having some faith. I’ll be making that naturally-sweetened, ice cold lemonade in no time. Heck, I guess I should probably spike it to celebrate. Right?

My recent bump in the road were nothing a trip home for the weekend couldn’t fix. I moped around in sweats, took advantage of OnDemand and my saint of a mother took me and Mike out for dinner at my favorite restaurant. She knows me too well. Coming back to take two exams with graduation just a week away made things all the more scary. There’s nothing left in my room at the condo I’ve called home for three years except my mattress and television. My roommates and I have been basically inseparable with the unspoken truth looming overhead that we will no longer all be living under the same roof. The waterworks come and go unannounced. I may have made Taylor toss a penny into the fountain at the mall the other day with me for good luck. We made a wish and embraced a few trickling tears, naturally making a scene. It happens. Side note, I’ve been playing Jason Mraz’s new song, I Won’t Give Up, on repeat. Bad combination with my funk? Yeah, but it’s just so good.

So that’s why I’ve been MIA for a week. A few curve balls have been thrown my way that I need to embrace. Smudged mascara and minimal effort cardio routines get you no where. Since I do well with lists, I made a few (and working on a few more as we speak) focusing on all the good. My strengths, a summer/pre-professional bucket list, a menu for a Cinco de Mayo graduation soiree—or should I say fiesta?—my family is throwing for me, etc. I’m excited to have time again to cook. To blog. To workout without having one eye on the clock. To laugh more, stress less. I want to take a road trip, try Cross-Fit, finally learn how to play guitar and hike in Vermont…I’m scared and excited, nervous and anxious but can only move forward confidently with a smile on my face. There’s too much to be happy about to be down in the dumps when something doesn’t go my way or perfectly as planned.

Get ready, lovelies. I’m back and ready for the next chapter of my life. More miles, recipes, sweat-tastic workouts, life happenings and obstacles to overcome. You in? I hope so.
“Worrying does not empty tomorrow of its troubles. It empties today of its strength.” Mary Engelbreit

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

7 Comments to “When Life Hands You Lemons…”

  1. Love you! Congratulations to you and best wishes to your adorable roommates!! Woo hoo!!!

  2. Ahh congratulations!! Graduation is such an exciting and yet absolutely terrifying thing all at once. I’m going to be going through it in a semester and am so looking forward to it but at the same time I don’t want it to happen. Good luck with everything!

  3. Congratulations, Lauren! I’m sure it’s all very bittersweet and overwhelming, but it’s also so exciting for you to be starting a new part of your life! If you happen to road trip to Baltimore, let me know! 🙂

  4. Great attitude, Lauren! I am totally a believer in “everything happens for a reason” even if it doesn’t seem so at the time. Congrats on graduation…it’s SUCH a scary/exciting time, and you have sooooo many options! Good luck with everything.

Leave a Reply

