Citrusy Chicken with Pineapple Jalapeño Salsa

It’s hard to believe that I was a vegetarian for over a year simply because I love chicken. Heck, chicken is one of the main reasons I reverted back to my carnivorous ways a few years ago. That and the fact that I seriously lacked the necessary amount of protein in my diet as a college freshman who hated dining hall food options. This recipe made me re-fall in love with chicken. Marinated overnight in a simple combination of orange, lemon and lime juice, thrown on the grill for some char marks and topped with a spicy but sweet salsa, I can proudly say it’s a home run. Perfect for the surge of summer barbecues around the corner! Keep in mind we were serving many hungry bellies so cut the recipe down as you see fit!

Chicken:
12 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, butterflied
1 cup orange juice
Juice from one lime and one lemon
6 garlic cloves

Combine the citrus juices and pour into a resealable plastic bag (or multiple if needed). Add in the chicken breasts, throw in the garlic cloves and let marinade in the refrigerator for 4+ hours. Like I said, I let the chickies soak in the flavorful goodness overnight, giving the bag a nice shake every time I had my head in there for a snack…which is often.  

Salsa:
1 1/2 cups pineapple
1/2 cup red bell pepper
1/2 cup green bell pepper
1/4 cup red onion
1/2 jalapeño
Juice from one lime
1/2 cup chopped tomato, or two small romas
Heaping tablespoon of cilantro

Nothing too daunting here but oh so fresh. Simply chop up and combine all of the ingredients, allowing for the juices to mingle and hangout with one another in the fridge before serving. While that’s happening, fire up the grill and let it do its magic! Serve with the salsa as a side or throw it right on top of the chicken for you and your guests to enjoy. Sprinkled a little extra cilantro on there and add a lime wedge to the plate. Is your mouth watering or what? With the other recipes including tequila and avocado I didn’t think this one needed it but if those ingredients strike your fancy, throw ’em on in! I bet it would be divine.
Could you ever go cold turkey (er, I mean chicken in this case?) and give up a food you love?  

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

Leave a Reply

