Peach Cobbler Protein Smoothie

I love smoothies. Add in warm weather and long jogs along the shoreline and you’ve got yourself the perfect summer combination, in my opinion. I was fighting some kind of cold (on top of allergies…) last week so sipping one or two smoothies a day  was necessary to sooth my sore throat, however my typical berry/banana concoction got old fast. Insert frozen peaches.

Ingredients
1 cup frozen peaches
1/2 frozen banana
1 serving of protein powder
8 oz. soy or almond milk
2 tablespoons chia seeds
Dash of cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla extract
Ice and more milk (or water) depending on desired consistency
Toppings: flaxseed meal, rolled oats, chopped frozen fruit, nut butter, Greek yogurt, etc. 

This smoothie is savory, sweet but oh so healthy! The reason behind the “1 serving of protein powder” is simply because the schtuff I recently purchased at my local health food store (Naturade’s Soy-Free Veg Protein Booster) calls for 1/3 cup as a serving. More than I usually use but the nutrition facts are pretty great with 110 calories (20 from fat), 2g total carbohydrates, 0g sugar and 21g protein. It’s natural flavor blends in well without any chalkiness! Because my immune system has been down, I took a few days off last week with a few light workouts and yoga sessions sprinkled in. I got right back on track this weekend, though, with 6 miles on Saturday and 8 yesterday (I ran down to my town’s Memorial Day parade…phew it was hot!). Time to start kicking my mileage up a notch…I’m hoping to do another half in a few weeks but we’ll see. In other news,  I attended a spa-inspired bachelorette party, tried a new restaurant (post to come), ate a lot of grilled foods and soaked up quite a few rays, taking my first pool dip of the season!
How was your long weekend?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Comments to “Peach Cobbler Protein Smoothie”

  1. Hey Lauren!! We’ve nominated your blog for “The Sunshine Award” so stop by Flavors by Four to check it out!! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

