Yin Yoga

I’ve been a pretty bad blogger, huh? Forgive me! So much has been going on, not to mention I’ve been experiencing a lack of creativity, I guess you could say. Between Mike’s sister, Heidi, getting married this past weekend (gorgeous pictures to come!), hopeful career moves and lots of traveling in between, I’ve had my hands full. That’s why, Monday evening I decided, apprehensively, to take a friend up on a yin yoga class, known for it’s calming stillness and long poses. It was quite different than my typical power vinyasa but just what I needed for my mind, body and soul.

The 90-minute class focused on stretching connective tissues, specifically in our legs. Perfect for a runner like me! I walked away feeling revitalized, relaxed and grounded with the understanding that I need to take a break from the constant go, go, go push everyday life throws my way. I simply had to focus on “the now,” leaving any anxiety, stress or tension at the door. In the transitional period I’m currently trying to embrace, I think that’s all I could ask for. By holding each position for five minutes, I was forced to open deep space inside my body, liberating both strength and movement. As the class’ description reads, I was truly encouraged to move beyond self-limiting tendencies entrained in the mind through physical but subtle body alignments for a more balanced, yin state. I have a feeling this will be the first of many classes to come!
Have you ever practiced yin yoga?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

