No More Nerves

I’m a quote hound, as some of you may know. Sometimes I seek them out when I need a little encouragement, inspiration or push. Other times, I’ll stumble upon words of greatness from, well, someone great that I simply love and have to make a conscious effort to store it in the back of the ol’ noggin (let’s be honest, it’s normally Pinterest) for future referral. One of my all-time favs is from Steve Jobs, who said, “Your work is going to fill a large part of your life and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking and don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.”

I don’t think I need to keep looking because I have found what I love. Actually, saying that I’ve been loving what I now “do” is an understatement and a half. Judging by my lack of posts the last week or so, I’ve been busy getting acclimated to the employment life. I was concerned, honestly, about making the leap to a 9-hour workday and all summer my start date of August 20th seemed to loom overhead⎯with all the anxieties and excitement that came with it. As soon as I stepped into my office, though, those nerves fell by the wayside. I’ve adjusted back into the editorial way of thinking just like riding a bike. I leave feeling accomplished and ironically more energized than if I had lounged around all day. Time flies by because I enjoy my work so much that a few times, I have found myself snacking at my desk after completely missing lunchtime. I may not have my hour+ gym workouts anymore or a beach to putz along at sunset, but I’ve been squeezing in sweat sessions with workout DVDs, quick cardio routines and even a few fitness class events work has sent me out on. Rough, right?

This weekend I hope to get blogging and cooking back on track. Surprisingly last Sunday’s trip to a local market has kept me fueled all week…all for $20. Can you believe it? Hey dad, I guess I can live in the city on a $20/day budget and in this case even SAVE some money. Who would have thunk. What lunch combos have been packed in my old Vera Bradley lunch bag each day? You’ll have to check back tomorrow to find out!
Do you bring a bagged lunch to work?

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

3 Responses to “No More Nerves”

  1. Isn’t it amazing when we get this lucky – to work at our dream company, with such great people? I couldn’t be more blessed or happier with where I’m at in my career. Glad that you’re back in action nearby, too 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

