Clarity

If I learned anything this summer, it was the power of the mind. I have a tendency to push myself beyond my limits, often relying on rushing endorphins to power through above and beyond. The good news is that now, when I start to feel myself reaching my breaking point [insert headaches, fatigue, etc., here…] I force myself to slow down, take a deep breath and embrace some much needed downtime. This weekend, I rebooted and boy, did it feel good. Saturday I slept in, clocked 8 miles, hit up the grocery store and spent the day enjoying Mike’s company. Although we originally had a Broadway show ambition, we settled on a lazy afternoon full of goofing off and planning for some exciting stuff in the works. Ahem, we may not be city slickers for much longer. More on that to come! A delightful salmon dinner by moi later on made things all the more perfect. Gosh, I love the fish market near our apartment. So fresh!

IMG_4082 IMG_4086 IMG_4092 IMG_4103 IMG_4110

My guy was off early yesterday morning for work so I got things started off on the right foot with a solid gym pump. Bikini season is closer than you think, ya’ll! I’m determined to have fiercely lean, sculpted arms by then. Besides that, I had quite the productive “me” day. My lunches for the week were all prepped, as were my outfits (pressed, accessorized…the works.) A hair and facial mask were completed, followed by a gal pal gabfest for over an hour on the phone. I find it funny how rarely I actually talk on the phone nowadays. It’s all texting and I don’t like it. Would you agree? After hanging up, I chose a new book over television (win!) before whipping up a simple stir-fry dinner with spaghetti squash and tofu shirataki noodles. See you never, pasta! My makeup brushes were then cleaned for the first time in, well, too long and a fresh coat of pink polish was applied with some sparkly accents. Love! Before I knew it, I was hitting the sack early to get my beauty rest to tackle the week off recharged and bright-eyed. Yep, this was just the weekend I needed.
How do you prep for success? 

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Comments to “Clarity”

  1. OMG the salmon and the stir fry both look so good!!! And your nails too, good job! It’s definitely hard sometimes to learn to relax and take a break. I know I’ve felt guilty all day for sitting around on a snow day. But I did a workout and I’m working my brain doing homework…so I say it’s OK to relax!

Leave a Reply

