Easy Banana Muffins

I love banana bread. I always have, always will. You would think that since “banana” is in the name, these tasty treats would be healthy…wrong! Most of the time, recipes jack up sugars, all-purpose flour, etc., that isn’t technically “bad” for you, but also not the low-cal, low-sugar snack to satisfy my need for an afternoon pick-me-up. I found a healthy recipe on Allrecipes.com (Granny’s Banana Bread) and put my own twist on them. To be honest, they weren’t nearly as incredible as my Morning Glory Muffins, but everyone who tried them enjoyed them, not to mention the recipe used up my very ripe bananas!

Ingredients
2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 eggs
1/3 cup applesauce
4-5 ripe bananas, mashed
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Honey (to drizzle on top of the muffins)
1 cup raisins (optional)
1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

In a large bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Mash up the bananas.

Add in the eggs and applesauce!

Stir it all together. (Add in the optional ingredients here. I didn’t have them in my cupboard unfortunately!)

Pour batter into baking pan or muffin tin! Drizzle with honey and sprinkle Pumpkin Pie Spice on top. Place in the oven at 375 degress F for 15-20 minutes.

Easy right?! The honey keeps them moist and curves any sweet tooth in a healthy manner. These are the perfect mid-afternoon snack to hold you over until dinner! If these aren’t sweet enough for you, the original recipe had 1 cup white sugar…cut it in half if you’re watching your waistline. Today is my last day of class before Thanksgiving break (I get a glorious 10 days off) so get ready for lots of posts in the upcoming week!

Sprinkled with Love,
Lauren

2 Comments to “Easy Banana Muffins”

  1. Um … I just realized something. With Steve coming home, I’ll be driving RIGHT BY Madison at least once or twice next week. I see cooking (and blogging) dates in our future lady!

Leave a comment